Jewish settlement of Transcarpathia began in the XV century, but most of the Jews moved to our region in the XVIII century. They moved here from Galicia, where overpopulation, political unrest and constant persecution made their life unbearable. Transcarpathia at that time was very depopulated due to the war of 1703-1711 and could accept a large number of immigrants. As early as 1787, 6,311 Jews inhabited the komitata of Ung, Bereg, Ugocha, and Maramorosh. In the first half of the XIX century, immigration from Galicia took place on an even larger scale. Further growth of migration processes and a high birth rate led to a significant increase in the Jewish population. In 1910, the Jewish communities of the above-mentioned four comitates numbered 128,791 people.
During the 1960s and 70s, two dozen wooden buildings of the XVIII-XX centuries were moved from the villages of the Transcarpathian region to the territory of the Museum. This is one of the first open-air museums or skansens in Ukraine. It began operation on June 27, 1970. The Museum is located not only as an " exhibition of achievements” of folk architecture of Transcarpathia, but also as a small independent village.
One of the best examples of temple architecture of Transcarpathia past is the Church of the Archangel Michael of XVIII Century With S. Shelestove Mukachevo district, which is a jewel of a Museum exposition of the Transcarpathian Museum of folk architecture and life in Uzhgorod. Folk architects erected this temple to the glory of God, where the soul and faith of our ancestors were tempered. Contemplation of the man-made exquisite harmonious image of this pearl causes admiration and a sense of national pride.