Mukachevsky district

Population of Mukachevo district-101,000 people (without a city Mukachevo). Almost 85% of the district's...

Royal tree yew berry

Berry yew is a coniferous tree species. In ancient times this unique tree occupied...

Judaism in Transcarpathia

The first mention of Judaic community in Uzhgorodit belongs to the XVI century. Immigrants...

King of the Carpathians-brown bear

Brown bears in the Ukrainian Carpathians mostly live in old forests, which make up 70% of the entire Carpathian forest. An important requirement for the existence of a brown bear is the presence in the forest of a dense shrubby layer, windbreaks, ravines, where it has the opportunity to hide during the day

Mini-sculpture of the Transcarpathian van Gogh-the Tivodar of Csontvary

This mini-sculpture was unveiled on March 10, 2016. It is located near the pedestrian...

Top Destinations

Africa

Discover the home of the Elephant

Asia

Reconnect with your soul

Europe

Best cities and beaches combined

Oceania

Thousands of islands await

Потрібно прочитати

Journey to lake Sinevir

Perhaps the most interesting and attractive place for tourists in Transcarpathia is the high-mountain...

The village-resort of solochin

The village of solochin in svalyavsky district was first mentioned in 1430. The village has a population of 1250 inhabitants. It stretches between the mountains of Kraha and Tetanic. The name of the village alludes to the saline soil rich in mineral waters. There are more than a dozen springs near the village. For example, at the foot of mount Tesanik there is a hydrogen sulfide spring, and in The belasovitsa tract there is a source of "Volkov kvas", named after the name of the owner of this source in the Austro-Hungarian period, when local water was traded throughout the Empire.

Trembita is a unique musical instrument

Trembits were used by the inhabitants of Transcarpathia as a kind of means of...

Популярні історії

The legend of the origin of the name of...

The territory of the Transcarpathian region in ancient times, when it was part of...

Transcarpathian Museum of local lore named after Tivodar Legotsky

Local history Museum is the largest Museum in the Transcarpathian region. The Museum was founded on 20.06.1945. Then it was called the people's Museum of Transcarpathian Ukraine and was located in 17 rooms of the former zhupanat. The Museum included departments of Ethnography, nature, and social construction. In June 1946, the people's Museum was reorganized into a local history Museum and moved to the Uzhhorod fortress in March-April 1947. At that time, there were 10,000 exhibits. Today, more than 133,000 exhibits are collected here.

Klondike in the village of Muzhievo

If you go with Coastal aside Vinogradov, then the first village on the way...

Legends of Nevitsky castle

The owner of the Nevitsky castle Stubbornly repulsed the Duke of Goro's bride and, to appease the anger of a rival who took the fortress in a long siege, promised him: if he had a daughter, he would give her in marriage to the Duke at the age of 16. A daughter was born in Upora, and his wife died during childbirth. After 17 years came to this place the old man Goro. He was forced to keep his word and agreed to Goro's marriage with His daughter. The young daughter of Upora, when she found out what kind of bridegroom her father had chosen for her, threw herself down from the castle tower in despair and died.

Mini-sculpture of Nikolai Shugai

Sculpture of the last of the Transcarpathians opryshkov (member of the peasant insurrectionary movement)...

Carpathian jungles

Vegetation of the subalpine belt ukrainian carpathian mountains it is represented by a whole...

Популярні категорії

Будьмо на зв’язку

Підпишіться на мої новини!

Зробіть цей вибір, і відтепер ви назавжди будете частиною кожної окремо взятої пригоди!

Цікаве

Church of the Introduction of the Holy mother of...

It is the village of Abranka Воловецького району Transcarpathian region was founded in 1611....

Collecting potions and other Kupala rituals and traditions in...

На Закарпатті існувала традиція збирати в день Ivana Kupala a variety of medicinal potions....

Ruins of Vinogradovsky castle Kankov

Kankov fortress was first mentioned in the Hungarian chronicle "deeds of the Hungarians". In this historical source, it is claimed that in the IX century there was a Slavic settlement on the site of the fortress, and two hundred years later the Hungarians built fortifications in its place to protect the border of the Kingdom and the trade "salt road". Even when the castle was wooden, it was destroyed by the invasion of Batu Khan in 1240. In 1262, the fortress was rebuilt. This was the center of the Ugocanski zhupa, which was the smallest by area in the Kingdom of Hungary.

Останні історії

Augustin Voloshin

Augustin Voloshin (1874-1945) - an outstanding teacher, political figure, President of the Carpathian Ukraine. He was born on March 17, 1874 in the family of a rural priest in the village of Kelechin in Mezhgorye. This is probably why he chose the path of theology and enlightenment. He studied at the Uzhgorod gymnasium, then at the theological faculty of the Theological Academy. From March 1897, he served as a chaplain in Uzhgorod, in the Tsegolnyansky Church. He continued his education at the higher pedagogical school of Budapest (faculty of mathematics and physics). Immediately after graduation, he began teaching at the Uzhgorod teachers ' Seminary ("preparandii"), and eventually became the Director of this institution.

Jews in Transcarpathia

Jewish settlement of Transcarpathia began in the XV century, but most of the Jews moved to our region in the XVIII century. They moved here from Galicia, where overpopulation, political unrest and constant persecution made their life unbearable. Transcarpathia at that time was very depopulated due to the war of 1703-1711 and could accept a large number of immigrants. As early as 1787, 6,311 Jews inhabited the komitata of Ung, Bereg, Ugocha, and Maramorosh. In the first half of the XIX century, immigration from Galicia took place on an even larger scale. Further growth of migration processes and a high birth rate led to a significant increase in the Jewish population. In 1910, the Jewish communities of the above-mentioned four comitates numbered 128,791 people.

Classification of Transcarpathian castles

For the first time, defense structures appeared in the Transcarpathian region in the bronze age. Then they were settlements surrounded by earthen ramparts and ditches (Ardanivske, Stremtura (Irshava), Galish-Lovachka (Mukachevo), Borzhavskoe (vary). The best type of defense structures of the middle ages in Transcarpathia are castles of the XI-XVIII centuries. Researchers distinguish two types of fortresses. The first was intended for overseeing the surrounding lands and receiving tribute from them, as well as for constant attacks. It's Mukachevo, Kwasowski, Bronicki, Nevitsky locks. The second type – the castle-guard of subordinated territories: Uzhgorod, Vynohradiv, Royal, Chynadievo, Serednyansky.

Uzhgorod castle. Legends and stories

Uzhgorod castle is about 1000 years old. At first, the fortress was made of wood. And the walls around were built in 1653-1658, just during the Polish invasion

The legend of the waterfall Shypit

In the middle of the emerald Carpathians, near the village of Pylypets near the foot of mount Gimba, stretches the magical waterfall Shipot, which is one of the seven wonders of Ukrainian nature

Uzhgorod district

There are many unique landscapes in the territory of Uzhgorod created by noble Hungarian families: Uzhhorod - Laudona Park, Pidzamkovy Park; Nevitske - Wagner Park; Big Lazi - Ploteni Park; Drawing - park in 1848. The area is growing more than 300 species of exotic plants, especially want to highlight the Japanese sakura, cypress, Himalayan pine, pavilion, magnolia.

[/tdc_zone]