This unique museum tells the story of the development of salt deposits in the Transcarpathian region. The museum was founded in 1973. The museum was founded by Karl Lukach (1924-2008). He devoted almost his entire life to the study of salt mining in Transcarpathia. Today, the museum of the history of salt mines is run by Karlo Ivanovych’s son.
The museum is located near the mines of the Solotvyno salt mine in the village of Solotvyno, 2 Shakhtarska Street. This is one of the largest salt mines in Europe. Experts estimate the local salt reserves at over three hundred million tonnes, and the thickness of the commercially exploited reservoir is estimated at three hundred metres.