The urban type settlement of Volovets is located at a distance of 114 kilometers from the city Uzhgorod’s, if you go by car or 118 kilometers if you get to it by train. This picturesque urban-type village is located at an altitude of 500 meters among the picturesque landscapes created by mountains Plai and Tomnatik and the valley of the small river Vich, which is a tributary of Latorica. The population of the village is nearly six thousand people.
The village of Volovets is an ancient Slavic settlement. In written sources, it was first mentioned in 1433. At that time the village was the property of barons Take over. According to legend, in the valley of Vici, the inhabitants of the surrounding villages brought herds of oxen to drink, hence the name of the locality. In the XVII century, Volovets was a small settlement where several dozen families lived. All its inhabitants were feudally dependent on the owner of these lands. Until the XIX century, the main occupation of local residents was animal husbandry.
In the middle XIX century in slide built ski springboard, which was one of the best in the territory of the Austro-Hungarian Empire. It was used by the Empire’s elite. In 1862 he even visited Volovets Emperor Franz Joseph.
In 1872, a railway was laid through Volovets, which gave an impetus to the further rapid development of the village. Since 1957, Volovets has received the status of an urban-type settlement and During the years of Soviet power, administrative buildings and the hub of the district center were built here. During the years of Soviet rule, administrative buildings, a communications center, a cultural Center, a tourist center “Plai”, and a shopping complex were built here. A gas pumping station of the Urengoy-Pomary-Uzhgorod gas pipeline was built in the vicinity of the village. In the 1980s, there were five medical institutions, 3 schools, and a school.
Volovets does not boast a large number of architectural monuments. Local masterpiece of sacred architecture wooden Pokrovskaya Church of the XVIII century already in our time, they were moved to Pirogovo in the exposition Of the Museum of folk architecture.
Ми шкодуємо, що ця стаття не виявилася корисною для вас!
Давайте покращимо цю статтю!
Розкажіть, як ми можемо покращити цю статтю?